Historical Heritage Sites

Steeped in rich history, each town boasts a rich heritage complete with museums and historical societies that illuminate the region's facinating history.

Consult the listings below to explore the historical marvel of the North Fork, and don't forget to check opening times!

1115 Main Bayview Road
Southold, NY
Phone: (631) 765-2626
Visit Website
Custer Institute & Observatory

 View the night sky through large telescopes at Long Island's oldest public observatory.

Lectures, concerts, art exhibits and more.

Phone: (631) 406-6180
Visit Website
East End Lighthouse, Inc.

Special Events, Tours and Preservation.

Donations accepted.

Phone: (631) 477-2100
Visit Website
East End Seaport and Maritime Museum
Riverhead, NY
Visit Website | Email
Hallockville Historical Farmstead Tours
Mattituck, NY
Phone: (631) 298-5248
Visit Website
Mattituck-Laurel Historical Society & Museum
Phone: 631-734-7122
Visit Website
The Old House Society - Cutchogue/New Suffolk Historical Council
416 Griffing Ave, Riverhead
440-4th street, Greenport
Visit Website
Railroad Museum of Long Island
Shelter Island, NY
Phone: (631) 749-0025
Visit Website
Shelter Island Historical Society
Phone: (631) 765-5500
Visit Website
Southold Historical Society Museum Grounds
Visit Website
Southold Indian Museum

School programs available.

Tours by appointment all year.

$2 adults, $.50 children.

300 West Main Street
Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone: 631-727-2881
Visit Website
The Suffolk county Historical Society

The Suffolk County Historical Society was founded in 1886 by a group of forward-looking county residents.

The Civil War had recently ended; the country had just celebrated its Centennial; and Americans were thinking about their heritage and how to preserve it. The founders of the society realized that in a rapidly changing world, if something were not done to record the county’s history it would soon be lost. The County Seat of Riverhead was chosen as the logical place to found the new society, and County Surrogate Judge James H. Tuthill became the first President. The society began collecting items almost immediately, and the first displays were placed in a small glass case in Tuthill’s Riverhead office.

Since its founding, the purpose of the Suffolk County Historical Society has remained essentially the same: to collect, preserve and interpret the ongoing history of Suffolk County and its people. To fulfill these purposes the society operates a history museum, a library and archives, and offers educational programs and events. The society houses a unique, ever-growing collection of artifacts, reflecting more than three centuries of history.

3rd street
Greenport, NY 11944
The 911 and otherwise historic Fireboat

The firefighter was initially commissioned by FDNY in 1938 and served the city of New York until 2010 before being retired.

The Fireboat once considered the most powerful fireboat in the world, had a long distinguished carreer with FDNY that included being one of two fireboats that supplied water to the World Trade Center site following the attacks of September 11th.

319 Main Street
Greenport, NY 11944
Visit Website
The 1830 Ireland House Museum of the Stirling Historical Society

Ireland House was built in the early 1830s on the south side of Adams Street about 100 feet from its present location. The house was home to numerous Greenport working families, many of whom rented from the property owners.

The house style is Greenport Vernacular, a common house form built from the 1750s. It is a simple small-scale half house with a plain façade, painted clapboard, a doorway with sidelight and transom and 6/6 pane windows.

The Society named the house after Margaret E. Ireland, a well known civic worker and an admired, colorful resident of Greenport. She was a newspaper correspondent for the NY Herald Tribune, the NY Journal American and local papers; a tireless fund raiser for Eastern Long Island Hospital and Burton Potter Post American Legion, and matron of Greenport Police Department. Ms. Ireland’s grandparents lived in the house in the late 1800s and raised their family there.

Open weekends July and August and by appointment. Located on the east side of the village parking area.

1555 Village Lane
Orient, NY 11957
The 1798 Village House and other properties of the Oysterponds Historical Society

The Oysterponds historical Society consists of seven buildings containing exhibitions and galleries plus and an open space adjacent to Webb House.  The collection exceeds 70,000 items.  Admission to all exhibits are free.